Lindamood, Foster Earn All-MSAC Honors; Banquet Awards Announced

Adam Lindamood and Kyle Foster earned first team All-Mountain State Athletic Conference honors and the annual award winners were announced as the 2012 Big Red football banquet.

Lindamood and Foster were selected to the first team by the conference coaches for the recently completed season while three other PHS players were mentioned.

Lindamood, the last of three brothers to earn all-conference honors, made it as one of four running backs while Foster, a junior, was named as the first team punter.

Lindamood finished the year with 1,441 yards rushing and 16 touchdowns to cap an outstanding career. The younger brother of Joey and Matt, Adam Lindamood finished as the sixth leading rusher of all time at Parkersburg High School with 2,704 yards. Matt was the leading rusher of all time with 4,211 yards while Joey finished with 1,977 yards. Meaning the trio of brothers amassed nearly 9,000 yards (8,892 to be exact) during their Big Red football careers. The youngest Lindamood also finished with 35 career touchdowns and a total of 210 points (10th best all time). The Lindamoods scored 810 points during their tenure as Big Reds with Matt being the all-time leader with 412 points.

Meanwhile Foster earned first team honors by averaging 41.3 yards per punt on 35 kicks, the third best average of all time at PHS. Only 14 of his kicks were returned, 12 of them were inside the 20 yard line and seven were fair caught.

Kicker Cody Roney was named special honorable mention after kicking four of seven field goals and 23 of 25 extra points for a total of 35 points. He finished his career with seven field goals and 75 kicking points (8th best of all time).

Making honorable mention All-MSAC was D.J. Carozza and Lantz Hoyler, the top lineman and defender respectively for the 2012 Big Reds.

The individual honors for 2012 were announced ad the Big Red banquet held Dec. 9 at Ohio Valley University. Those award winners were:

Tom Brock MVP - Austin Alatorre

Mason Roberts Heart Award - Chandler Hamilton

J. Fred Earley Back of the Year - Adam Lindamood

Gene Eppley Defensive Player of the Year - Lantz Hoyler

Ed Forshey Big Red of the Year - Ethan Bussey

Carroll Jett Worker of the Year - Corey Coe

Buddy James Offensive Lineman of the Year - D.J. Carozza

Ross McHenry Scholar Award - Austin Alatorre

The Big Reds lost 18 seniors, 17 of which lettered this season. They return 15 juniors, of which 13 lettered, and 22 sophomores, of which eight earned varsity letters. Approximately 10 starters return. 2012 Contact Webmaster